Fee: $60 per person (includes breakfast)
The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Public Welfare (DPW), is providing advance notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DPW-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.
Additionally, EFFECTIVE WITH THE FIRST LICENSE RENEWAL AFTER JANUARY 1, 2015, all health-related licensees and funeral directors applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.
Please note that Act 31 applies to all health-related licensees, regardless of whether they are subject to the continuing education requirements of the applicable board. More information regarding this requirement will be posted on the BPOA website when it is available.
Review Act 31>> (Domestic Relations Code)
The Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse training provided by Pennsylvania Family Support Alliance (PFSA) is approved by the Departments of Public Welfare, Education and State. The training meets the requirements for Act 31.
One of the primary purposes of the Child Protective Services Law is to encourage more complete reporting of child abuse and neglect. The child protection system cannot respond, nor can children and families receive help, without community involvement. A key segment of the community is mandated reporters of child abuse – those persons who come into contact with children in the course of their employment, occupation or practice of their profession.
In recognition of the vital role mandated reporters play in identifying and preventing child abuse, Pennsylvania Family Support Alliance offers on-site training to professionals required by law to report suspected child abuse.
Upon completion of the course, the participant will:
- Learn to recognize the signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect.
- Know how to properly respond to and report cases of suspected child abuse and neglect.
- Clarify your responsibilities and protections under the law.
- Reduce the level of stress and frustration often associated with child abuse reporting.
- Identify community resources for at-risk families.
- Learn how to work collaboratively with county children and youth service agencies.
This program will fulfill the 3 hour training requirement for new licensure beginning January 2015 and/or be used for the 2 hour renewal.
Since this course is limited to 50 people, it is expected to fill quickly. Other options to fulfill this requirement will become available, including virtual monthly courses provided by PFSA, as well as a free online course coming soon by DPW. Therefore, please register for this course with full intention of attending. We will NOT be able to issue refunds for choosing the online option once it becomes available.